TABLE OF CONTENTS
Every well-informed enterpriser knows that CBD products are newly legal and expected to grow by leaps and bounds in the years ahead. In West Virginia, entrepreneurs can take advantage of federally loosened laws around hemp-derived CBD products by starting a retail business. One of the essential steps in that process is obtaining a West Virginia CBD license.
CBD business owners must comply with all local rules and regulations. West Virginia may have a reputation as being “Wild and Wonderful,” but it does have strict laws and state registration policies. Read on to learn everything you need to know about getting a CBD license in West Virginia and starting your business as soon as possible.
How to Start a CBD Business in West Virginia
Confucious allegedly said, “Success depends upon previous preparation, and without such preparation, there is sure to be failure.”
That sentiment applies especially to the competitive CBD market. Any prospective business owner must have a clear idea of what their business will look like, which begins with developing a business plan. Market research is also essential. In West Virginia, much of the population lives in rural, low-density areas. That means you have to assess your potential customer base accurately; if you live in Charleston or Morgantown this may be less of a concern, but it’s always a good idea to scope out the competition before you throw your hat in the ring.
It’s essential to research the kinds of CBD products you want to sell. Will you focus on edibles? Oils and tinctures? How will you acquire your products? In the wake of the 2018 Farm Bill that removed hemp-derived CBD from Schedule 1 status, there has been a deluge of CBD product manufacturers. Understanding which products are high quality and which are not could separate you from the rest of the CBD retailer pack.
You’ll also need to find a high-risk payment processor for your CBD business. This will ensure that you can accept payments without a hitch, and you can focus on securing inventory and providing the best service possible to your customers.
Finally, you’ll need to understand the laws and regulations governing CBD products in West Virginia. That includes learning how to acquire a West Virginia CBD license.
How to Get a CBD License in West Virginia
The process for acquiring a West Virginia CBD license is fairly straightforward and is handled by the West Virginia Department of Agriculture. Prospective business owners need to fill out an application with some basic information about where they plan to sell hemp in West Virginia, even if it’s online. Applicants are also required to pay a $100 registration fee.
One slightly inconvenient aspect of the application process is that it must be completed by snail mail. There is no online option. This means that applicants must rely on traditional mail services, potentially causing delays in the submission and processing of their applications.
CBD License Application Requirements for West Virginia
As mentioned above, you’ll need to pay a $100 fee along with the application. Otherwise, you’ll have to provide basic information about yourself and your business: the name of your store, its address, hours of operation, and other details. If you only plan to sell products that you make yourself, you don’t need to pay the fee, but you do still need to complete registration.
Additionally, you’ll need documentation from the West Virginia Tax Division to prove you’re in good standing with the state. Then all you have to do is wait for approval and paperwork that proves you’ve registered with the state.
Laws & Regulations for Selling CBD in West Virginia
There are, of course, regulations governing the sale of CBD in West Virginia. You can only sell products derived from hemp with 0.3% THC content; otherwise, you’re technically selling marijuana, which is only allowed for medical purposes in West Virginia.
All hemp products in West Virginia must also be registered with the state. This won’t impact you directly if you plan to sell to consumers and don’t make the products yourself, but it’s a good idea to ensure your entire inventory complies with the West Virginia registration requirements.
A 2023 state bill also limited the sale of hemp-derived products to people over 21. So if you plan on selling CBD products to West Virginians, you should have an identity-verification plan in place.
How to Renew Your CBD License in West Virginia
The process for renewing your West Virginia CBD license is identical to the process for registering. You must fill out the same form (including any updates to your business information) and pay the same $100 fee. Applications are due on January 1 of each new year regardless of when you originally received your initial registration, which simplifies the renewal process.
Start Selling CBD in West Virginia
After receiving proof of registration from the Department of Agriculture, sourcing your inventory, and establishing your business accounts, you’re ready to start making money. Doing so will require partnering with a high-risk merchant services provider to process transactions and give you the money you’ve earned.
High-Risk Businesses Wanted
Your troubles of getting approved are over
West Virginia CBD License: FAQs
Perhaps the above information doesn’t answer every last one of your questions about obtaining a West Virginia CBD license. Below, you’ll find simple answers to some of the most common questions about selling CBD in the Mountain State.
Is CBD legal in West Virginia?
Yes, CBD is legal in West Virginia. The aforementioned State Bill 220 did, however, add additional restrictions on the sale of hemp-derived CBD products. That includes limiting sales of CBD products to customers over 21. There are also a lot of rules about labeling in the bill, which shouldn’t directly affect you if you’re simply a retailer, but it’s good to know that labels targeting kids are a big no-no. This includes labels with cartoons or labels that imitate existing brands of candy or other food items.
How much does a CBD license cost in West Virginia?
As mentioned above, applications for a CBD license cost $100 and must be renewed by January 1 every year.
Can you sell CBD without a license in West Virginia?
No! Just don’t do it. You’re liable to prosecution if you fail to register with the state, and it’s surely not worth the risk.
How long is a CBD license valid in West Virginia?
A West Virginia CBD license lasts until December 31 of each calendar year, regardless of when you applied for it. For example, whether you apply in February or July, your registration expires in December and you must reapply by January 1 of the following year. It’s not good for a year from when you applied.